Drivers License Cost by State

To legally own and operate a motor vehicle of any kind in the U.S, one must have both a license and registration, to verify their ownership of the vehicle and their competence in operating it. 

Generally, the distribution of licenses is handled by state governments, who often charge different prices for preparing a license. States also have different laws regarding how old one must be before they can acquire a license and how long before they have to renew that license. Generally, the minimum age to obtain a license is 18, and anyone under that age is able to obtain a provisional license or a learner’s permit. The latter is for learners and students hoping to acquire their license and has restrictions placed on the motorists like curfews and a limited number of passengers. 

To compare driver’s license costs by state, please refer to the data in the charts.

Driver's License Cost by State

Alabama

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$36.25

#17 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$485

#12 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

2%

#6 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$23

#8 in the US

Alaska

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$20

#43 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$200

#38 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

0%

#1 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$100

#42 in the US

Arizona

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$25

#33 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$410

#16 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

5.6%

#18 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$9.5

#1 in the US

Arkansas

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$40

#10 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$110

#49 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

6.5%

#27 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$17

#4 in the US

California

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$33

#20 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$85

#50 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

7.2%

#45 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$46

#32 in the US

Colorado

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$26

#32 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$490

#11 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

2.9%

#7 in the US

Connecticut

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$72

#2 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$415

#15 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

6.3%

#28 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$80

#40 in the US

Delaware

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$40

#11 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$292

#32 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

0%

#2 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$40

#26 in the US

Florida

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$48

#8 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$995

#1 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

6%

#29 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$225

#46 in the US

Georgia

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$32

#21 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$545

#4 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

6.6%

#30 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$20

#5 in the US

Hawaii

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$20

#44 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$250

#34 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

4%

#10 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$45

#31 in the US

Idaho

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$30

#26 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$265

#33 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

6%

#31 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$69

#36 in the US

Illinois

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$30

#27 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$303

#24 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

6.2%

#32 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$101

#43 in the US

Indiana

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$17.5

#47 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$150

#43 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

7%

#46 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$36.35

#22 in the US

Iowa

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$32

#22 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$135

#46 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

5%

#19 in the US

Kansas

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$23

#40 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$399

#17 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

7.5%

#47 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$30

#12 in the US

Kentucky

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$30

#28 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$450

#13 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

6%

#33 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$21

#6 in the US

Louisiana

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$32.25

#23 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$200

#39 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

4.4%

#11 in the US

Maine

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$30

#29 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$499

#9 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

5.5%

#20 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$35

#21 in the US

Maryland

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$72

#3 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$500

#5 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

6%

#34 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$135

#44 in the US

Massachusetts

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$50

#6 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$396

#19 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

6.2%

#35 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$60

#35 in the US

Michigan

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$25

#34 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$230

#36 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

6%

#36 in the US

Minnesota

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$25.25

#35 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$75

#51 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

6.5%

#37 in the US

Mississippi

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$24

#38 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$425

#14 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

5%

#21 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$15

#2 in the US

Missouri

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$10

#50 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$500

#6 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

4.2%

#12 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$21

#7 in the US

Montana

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$40.5

#12 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$299

#26 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

0%

#3 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$217

#45 in the US

Nebraska

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$21.5

#42 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$299

#27 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

5.5%

#22 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$15

#3 in the US

Nevada

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$42.25

#9 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$499

#10 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

6.9%

#38 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$33

#18 in the US

New Hampshire

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$50

#7 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$372

#21 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

0%

#4 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$31.2

#17 in the US

New Jersey

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$24

#39 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$399

#18 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

6.6%

#39 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$33.5

#19 in the US

New Mexico

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$18

#46 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$339

#23 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

4%

#13 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$27

#11 in the US

New York

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$64.25

#4 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$175

#41 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

4%

#14 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$26

#10 in the US

North Carolina

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$40

#13 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$599

#2 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

3%

#8 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$36

#23 in the US

North Dakota

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$15

#48 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$299

#28 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

5%

#23 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$49

#33 in the US

Ohio

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$23

#41 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$250

#35 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

5.8%

#24 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$34.5

#20 in the US

Oklahoma

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$38.5

#15 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$299

#29 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

3.2%

#9 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$85

#41 in the US

Oregon

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$60

#5 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$115

#47 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

0%

#5 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$43

#29 in the US

Pennsylvania

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$35.5

#18 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$389

#20 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

6%

#40 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$36

#24 in the US

Rhode Island

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$38.5

#16 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$220

#37 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

7%

#48 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$30

#13 in the US

South Carolina

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$12.5

#49 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$350

#22 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

5%

#25 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$40

#27 in the US

South Dakota

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$28

#30 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$115

#48 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

4%

#15 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$36

#25 in the US

Tennessee

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$28

#31 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$500

#7 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

7%

#49 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$23.75

#9 in the US

Texas

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$25

#36 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$150

#44 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

6.2%

#41 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$50.75

#34 in the US

Utah

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$25

#37 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$299

#30 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

7%

#50 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$43

#30 in the US

Vermont

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$32

#24 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$180

#40 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

6%

#42 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$76

#39 in the US

Virginia

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$32

#25 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$599

#3 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

4.2%

#16 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$40.75

#28 in the US

Washington

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$89

#1 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$150

#45 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

6.8%

#43 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$30

#14 in the US

West Virginia

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$40

#14 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$175

#42 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

6%

#44 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$30

#15 in the US

Wisconsin

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$34

#19 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$299

#31 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

5%

#26 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$75

#38 in the US

Wyoming

See less

do_not_disturb_on

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$20

#45 in the US

CAR DEALER DOCUMENTATION FEEhelp

$500

#8 in the US

CAR SALES TAXhelp

4%

#17 in the US

VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEEShelp

$30

#16 in the US