States Without Daylight Savings




Daylight Saving Time (DST) is a practice where clocks are adjusted forward by one hour during the spring and set back by one hour in the fall. The main purpose of DST is to make better use of daylight during the longer days of summer, allowing for extended daylight in the evenings. While the majority of states in the United States observe DST, there are two states without daylight savings, Arizona and Hawaii. There are a few reasons why states would choose not to participate in this time-changing tradition.

One of the primary reasons why states may choose not to observe DST is the desire for consistency. Changing clocks twice a year can disrupt daily routines and create confusion for residents. By opting out of DST, these states maintain a fixed time schedule throughout the year, avoiding the need to adjust their clocks and adapt to the time change. Consistency can be particularly important for industries such as agriculture, where adhering to a consistent time schedule is crucial for farming operations.

Another factor that influences the decision to forgo DST is climate and geography. States with milder climates or locations closer to the equator experience minimal variation in daylight hours throughout the year. Consequently, the need to adjust the clocks to regulate daylight distribution is less relevant. Hawaii, for example, is located in a tropical region with relatively consistent daylight hours year-round, making DST unnecessary.

Energy considerations also play a role in the decision-making process. DST was initially introduced as a means to conserve energy by taking advantage of natural daylight during the longer summer evenings. However, the energy-saving benefits of DST in modern times are a subject of debate. Some states have determined that the potential energy savings do not outweigh the potential disruptions caused by changing the clocks twice a year. Therefore, they choose to maintain a consistent time schedule throughout the year.

What States Don’t Do Daylight Savings ?

StateDaylight Savings by State

What States Are Getting Rid of Daylight Savings Time ?

Currently, two states in the United States do not observe Daylight Saving Time: Arizona and Hawaii. Arizona’s decision is primarily based on its warm climate and extended daylight hours throughout the year. The state’s residents prefer to maintain a consistent time schedule without the need to adjust their clocks. Similarly, Hawaii’s location near the equator results in minimal variation in daylight hours, making DST unnecessary.

The two states that don’t do daylight savings are :

1. Arizona
2. Hawaii

States That Don't Do Daylight Savings


See less


Daylight Savings by State



Arizona is one of the states that doesn't do daylight savings. The primary reason behind Arizona's decision is its warm climate and long daylight hours throughout the year. With scorching summers and plenty of sunshine, the state benefits from maintaining a consistent time schedule without the need to adjust clocks. The residents of Arizona appreciate the stability and routine that comes with not participating in DST, allowing them to enjoy their extended daylight evenings without interruption.


See more


Daylight Savings by State



Hawaii, located in the tropical region of the Pacific Ocean, is another state that does not observe Daylight Saving Time. Due to its geographical position near the equator, Hawaii experiences minimal variation in daylight hours throughout the year. The state enjoys relatively consistent daylight from morning to evening, making the adjustment of clocks unnecessary. By forgoing DST, Hawaii residents can maintain a steady time schedule that aligns with the natural daylight patterns of their picturesque island paradise.

Need to survey a highly targeted audience?

Talk to our Experts