Driving Age by State

Driving has long been a crucial part of an American’s life, especially considering the central role the automobile has played within the United States. 

The age at which one can receive a license varies by state; typically, states will also have a junior or provisional license for those under eighteen. These junior licenses will often have certain restrictions, such as how many passengers can be in the vehicle and a curfew. New drivers are also typically required to obtain a learner’s permit, which allows them to drive with a responsible adult (typically a parent or guardian) in the vehicle. 

However, Federal law does not dictate how old one must be to obtain a typical driver’s license, although it does require one to be at least twenty-one to get a commercial driver’s license.

Learn for yourself how the driving age differs by state by surveying the data in the charts.

Minimum Driving Age by State

Alabama

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15

#10 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$36.25

#17 in the US

Alaska

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

14

#43 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$20

#43 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

16

#6 in the US

Arizona

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15.5

#11 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$25

#33 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

16

#7 in the US

Arkansas

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

14

#44 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$40

#10 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

16

#8 in the US

California

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15.5

#12 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$33

#20 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

18

#1 in the US

Colorado

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15

#13 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$26

#32 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

16

#9 in the US

THE LEGAL AGE A CHILD CAN BE LEFT ALONEhelp

12

#2 in the US

Connecticut

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

16

#1 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$72

#2 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

16

#10 in the US

Delaware

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

16

#2 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$40

#11 in the US

THE LEGAL AGE A CHILD CAN BE LEFT ALONEhelp

12

#3 in the US

District of Columbia

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

16

#3 in the US

Florida

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15

#14 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$48

#8 in the US

Georgia

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15

#15 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$32

#21 in the US

THE LEGAL AGE A CHILD CAN BE LEFT ALONEhelp

8

#11 in the US

Hawaii

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15.5

#16 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$20

#44 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

18

#2 in the US

Idaho

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

14.5

#45 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$30

#26 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

16

#11 in the US

Illinois

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15

#17 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$30

#27 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

12

#26 in the US

THE LEGAL AGE A CHILD CAN BE LEFT ALONEhelp

14

#1 in the US

Indiana

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15

#18 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$17.5

#47 in the US

Iowa

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

14

#46 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$32

#22 in the US

Kansas

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

14

#47 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$23

#40 in the US

THE LEGAL AGE A CHILD CAN BE LEFT ALONEhelp

6

#14 in the US

Kentucky

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

16

#4 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$30

#28 in the US

Louisiana

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15

#19 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$32.25

#23 in the US

Maine

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15

#20 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$30

#29 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

16

#12 in the US

Maryland

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15.75

#21 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$72

#3 in the US

THE LEGAL AGE A CHILD CAN BE LEFT ALONEhelp

8

#12 in the US

Massachusetts

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

16

#5 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$50

#6 in the US

Michigan

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

14.75

#48 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$25

#34 in the US

THE LEGAL AGE A CHILD CAN BE LEFT ALONEhelp

11

#5 in the US

Minnesota

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15

#22 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$25.25

#35 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

16

#13 in the US

Mississippi

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15

#23 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$24

#38 in the US

THE LEGAL AGE A CHILD CAN BE LEFT ALONEhelp

12

#4 in the US

Missouri

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15

#24 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$10

#50 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

16

#14 in the US

Montana

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

14.5

#49 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$40.5

#12 in the US

Nebraska

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15

#25 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$21.5

#42 in the US

Nevada

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15.5

#26 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$42.25

#9 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

14

#24 in the US

New Hampshire

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15.5

#27 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$50

#7 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

18

#3 in the US

New Jersey

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

16

#6 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$24

#39 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

16

#15 in the US

New Mexico

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15

#28 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$18

#46 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

16

#16 in the US

THE LEGAL AGE A CHILD CAN BE LEFT ALONEhelp

10

#6 in the US

New York

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

16

#7 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$64.25

#4 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

16

#17 in the US

North Carolina

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15

#29 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$40

#13 in the US

THE LEGAL AGE A CHILD CAN BE LEFT ALONEhelp

8

#13 in the US

North Dakota

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

14

#50 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$15

#48 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

14

#25 in the US

THE LEGAL AGE A CHILD CAN BE LEFT ALONEhelp

9

#10 in the US

Ohio

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15.5

#30 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$23

#41 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

16

#18 in the US

Oklahoma

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15.5

#31 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$38.5

#15 in the US

Oregon

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15

#32 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$60

#5 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

16

#19 in the US

THE LEGAL AGE A CHILD CAN BE LEFT ALONEhelp

10

#7 in the US

Pennsylvania

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

16

#8 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$35.5

#18 in the US

Rhode Island

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

16

#9 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$38.5

#16 in the US

South Carolina

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15

#33 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$12.5

#49 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

16

#20 in the US

South Dakota

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

14

#51 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$28

#30 in the US

Tennessee

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15

#34 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$28

#31 in the US

THE LEGAL AGE A CHILD CAN BE LEFT ALONEhelp

10

#8 in the US

Texas

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15

#35 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$25

#36 in the US

Utah

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15

#36 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$25

#37 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

16

#21 in the US

Vermont

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15

#37 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$32

#24 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

16

#22 in the US

Virginia

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15.5

#38 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$32

#25 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

16

#23 in the US

Washington

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15

#39 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$89

#1 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

18

#4 in the US

THE LEGAL AGE A CHILD CAN BE LEFT ALONEhelp

10

#9 in the US

West Virginia

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15

#40 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$40

#14 in the US

Wisconsin

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15

#41 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$34

#19 in the US

MINIMUN WORKING AGEhelp

18

#5 in the US

Wyoming

See less

do_not_disturb_on

MINIMUM DRIVING AGEhelp

15

#42 in the US

DRIVER'S LICENSE COSThelp

$20

#45 in the US